Westgate.

I’ve spent the whole week wanting to name-drop Westgate mall, and I don’t know why. I’ve wanted to let people know that my jeans, my hoodie, my three functioning pairs of trainers, the ‘bunny suicides’ postcards on my classroom wall, all come from Westgate mall. I’ve wanted to point to the school trips I’ve taken there, the films I’ve watched upstairs in the cinema, the sushi I’ve enjoyed. Why?

If I’d been in Nairobi last Saturday, that’s where I would have been. And when I’ve been there, I’ve noticed this: it’s full of teenage school kids, just passing the time. I don’t know what my need to name-drop is all about, I’m no professional. But I’ll say this much: fuck you, al-Shabaab. Fuck you.

This entry was posted in Real Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

